Holland Scholarship for International Students



The Holland Scholarship is funded by the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture, and Science, in collaboration with Dutch research universities and universities of applied sciences. This scholarship to Holland is intended for international students from outside the European Economic Area who wish to pursue a bachelor’s or master’s degree. The EEA consists of the European Union (EU) countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

Why study in Holland?

The formal name of the country is the Kingdom of the Netherlands – Netherlands for short. The term alludes to the land’s flatness and low level. A large portion of it is at or below sea level.

The Netherlands is sometimes known as ‘Holland,’ referring to the two western coastal provinces of North and South Holland. This was the most powerful territory of the Dutch Republic in the 17th century.

NetherlandsThe terms are used interchangeably in international communications. Both the Netherlands and Holland refer to the small country that is sandwiched between Germany, Belgium and the North Sea.

  • There are 2,100+ programmes in English
  • Get high-quality education and value for your money
  • Be part of an international community
  • Develop valuable skills and be more successful
  • Live in one of the safest and happiest countries in the world
  • Have the rest of Europe at your doorstep.

Scholarship amount and period

This scholarship is worth € 5,000. The Holland scholarship will be awarded to you only once. This scholarship to Holland will be paid at the beginning of the second semester. Please keep in mind that this isn’t a full-tuition scholarship.

Eligibility Criteria for Holland Scholarship

  • Your nationality is non-EEA.
  • You are applying for a full-time bachelor or master degree program at one of the partnering universities.
  • You meet the specific admission requirements of the institution of your choosing.
  • You do not hold a degree from a Netherlands educational institution.
  • You have not received a Holland Scholarship before

Universities participating in Holland Scholarship

The following is a list of Dutch universities that are participating in the Holland Scholarship for the academic year 2021-2022. The particular closing dates and disciplines of study for the current academic year may be found on the website of the institution to which you wish to apply.

Research UniversitiesApplied Science Universities
Leiden University

Utrecht University

University of Groningen

Erasmus University Rotterdam

Maastricht University

VU Amsterdam

Radboud University

Tilburg University

Delft University of Technology

Eindhoven University of Technology

University of Twente

Wageningen University

Protestant Theological University

Theological University Apeldoorn

Theological University

Aeres University of Applied Sciences

Amsterdam University of the Arts

ArtEZ Institute of the Arts

Breda University of Applied Sciences

Codarts Rotterdam

Driestar educatief

Fontys University of Applied Sciences

Gerrit Rietveld Academie (pdf, 400 kB)

The Hague University of Applied Sciences

Hanze University of Applied Sciences

Hotelschool The Hague

Royal Academy of Art, The Hague

Inholland University of Applied Sciences

Rotterdam University of Applied Sciences

HU University of Applied Sciences Utrecht

Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences

HAN University of Applied Sciences

HKU University of Applied Sciences

HZ University of Applied Sciences

Saxion University of Applied Sciences

NHL Stenden University of Applied Sciences

Van Hall Larenstein University of Applied Sciences

Zuyd University of Applied Sciences



The application round for the academic year 2022-2023 will open on 1 November 2021. The deadline for application is either 1 February 2022 or 1 May 2022. Please check the website of the institution of your choice to confirm the correct deadline.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *